Roto-Rouda

Take a Powder

Posted in Uncategorized by andreajrouda on March 25, 2010

Okay, let’s get real. Exactly what do we mean when we say “medical marijuana?” Is it something along the lines of,  “It hurts so bad I wanna get high”?

Here is an excerpt from a Letter to the Editor in my local paper this morning:

“As a person who requires medicinal marijuana in order to live a productive life, I am completely outraged with the government here in Maine!” The photo accompanying this story shows a man sucking a bong, and the caption says: “Perry Parks, 67, of North Carolina, says marijuana helps him with pain from arthritis and degenerative disk disease.”

Now I’m no expert but I do have some experience in this arena. First of all, I too have been diagnosed with arthritis in my hip, a result of twenty years of running. I went to several doctors; the first suggested I get a new hip and the second said I should eat more salmon. (Obviously I went the salmon route.) Neither one said I should smoke pot.

Which is not to infer that I have not smoked pot because I have, quite liberally in my day, for a variety of reasons: rock concert, great food, boring party, bad marriage, stupid people, special effects action film, playing Risk, and living in Salt Lake City, to name but a few.

Notice, handling my arthritis pain is not on that list. When my hip hurts, I do take a drug: Advil or Tylenol or Advil and Tylenol or aspirin or Aleve or if it’s really bad, some leftover painkillers from a root canal years ago that I never used and keep for emergencies.

So let’s just call a spade a spade, shall we? Pot gets you high and makes you relax, so I guess that makes you feel better. But the guy from North Carolina who says he needs it to lead a productive life? Oh, please.

Leave a Reply

